Leinster Hurling – Dublin v Laois – Click for preview, teams and live score commentary

Last updated on Nov 20th, 2020 at 14:23

Leinster Hurling – Dublin v Laois – Click for preview, teams and live score commentary, match is live at 6pm on Saturday 24th October. 

Last year, Dublin vs Laois saw the Dubs knocked out of the Championship at the preliminary quarter-final stage. After great performances that saw them qualify from their group ahead of Galway, they were stunned by Laois. The two-point win put Laois on the map as a hurling county. With that in mind, there is sure to be some added spice to this year’s tie.


Dublin captain Chris Cumney is personally looking forward to the resumption of GAA Championships: “You realise how lucky we are and how massive an opportunity it is to play championship in the winter months. We’re very grateful for the GAA and public health authorities giving it the go-ahead.”

Cumney underwent surgery in February and was on tight schedule to return for the initial Championship dates. Now, he has had a chance to do is rehab and is looking forward to the knock-out format.

On the other hand, Laois have proven they can win this fixture and will be excited to try and replicate the feat. The defeated side enter the qualifiers. Therefore, any team has the chance to play off the cuff and teams like Laois will undoubtedly do so.

Both these counties’ U20 sides won in midweek. But, the remainder of that Championship has been postponed. Therefore, either management squad may make use of their youngsters.

The winner plays a week later in the Leinster semi-final against Kilkenny.

Team News

Dublin (Laois) Alan Nolan, Paddy Smith, Eoghan O’Donnell, James Madden, Conor Burke, Daire Gray, Cian O’Callaghan, Sean Moran, Rian McBride, Cian Boland, Chris Crummey, Danny Sutcliff, Donal Burke, David Keogh and Ronan Hayes

Laois (Dublin): Enda Rowland; Lee Cleere, Sean Downey, Donnchadh Hartnett; Ronan Broderick, Padraig Delaney, Ryan Mullaney; Fiachra C Fennell, Patrick Purcell; Aaron Dunphy, Willie Dunphy, James Ryan; James Keyes, Ross King, Stephen Maher.

Sky Sports are showing the game live.

Predition: Dublin. Last year’s defeat will be in the back of their mind and will be an extra incentive. However, Laois know defeat would mean a short season and they would love a crack at Kilkenny. It will be every bit as close as last year but we expect Dublin to qualify.

Dublin vs Laois: Leinster Hurling Championship. Saturday, October 24th, 6pm (Croke Park). 

List of live gaa matches on Eirsport, Sky Sports, GAAGO & RTE




Ballymun Kickhams vs Ballyboden Dublin Football Final Live scores

Ballymun Kickhams play Ballyboden St Endas in the Senior County Club Football Final in Parnell Park at  4.30pm

Ballymun Kickhams return to the Dublin Football Final for the first time since 2017. After two tough knockout games against Na Fianna and Kilmacud Crokes, they earned their place in the finale. Likewise, Ballyboden St. Enda’s had to work to return to the final. Firstly, they needed extra time to beat a brave Raheny. Next, there was just a goal between them and St. Jude’s.

Teams Boosted by Absence of Inter-County.

Both teams are unbeaten in the Championship so far this year. Thus, the final is guaranteed to be closely contested. The lack of an inter-county Championship this summer has meant that all the clubs have had a full contingent in this year’s Championship. As a result, a victory this year will be extra sweet for the team who comes out on top.

Ballymun Kickhams particularly profit from having their county players. Their ranks contain a host of Dublin regulars. Namely, Evan Comerford, Philly McMahon, John and Paddy Small, James McCarthy, and Dean Rock. Having players of this calibre will add invaluable inexperience when the final reaches boiling point.

On the other hand, Ballyboden St. Enda’s can call upon the 2013 Player of the Year Michael Darragh McCauley. McCauley is the engine of the south Dublin side. Furthermore, the team is complemented by the likes of Robbie McDaid, Ryan Basquel, and Conal Keaney. For instance, this Ballyboden side went all the way to All-Ireland glory in 2016.

In fact, Ballyboden St. Enda’s have won the last three Dublin SFC finals they appeared in (’09, ’15, ’19). In contrast, Ballymun Kickhams have lost on their last two outings in the final. After, winning in 2012, they lost a replay in 2013 by a point against St. Vincent’s. Next, the same opposition beat them by a score in 2017.

With this in mind, Ballymun Kickhams will be determined to leave nothing on the field next Sunday. Ballyboden St. Enda’s know how to win a final though. Therefore Ballymun will be thankful to be able to call on their county players when it matters. However, Ballymun’s David Byrne and Leon Young are suspended for the final after seeing late red cards against Kilmacud Crokes.

Paths to the Final


Ballymun Kickhams 1-18 vs 2-12 Kilmacud Crokes.

Ballyboden St. Enda’s 2-11 vs 1-11 St. Jude’s.


Ballymun Kickhams 1-18 vs 2-13 Na Fianna.

Ballyboden St. Enda’s 2-16 vs 0-16 Raheny (AET).

Group Stages

Ballyboden St. Enda’s 4-20 vs 2-08 Clontarf

Ballyboden St. Enda’s 5-11 vs 1-17 St. Vincent’s

Ballyboden St. Enda’s 4-22 vs 1-10 Whitehall Colmcille

Ballymun Kickhams 3-18 vs 0-12 Skerries Harps

Ballymun Kickhams 3-26 vs 1-10 Round Towers Lusk

Ballymun Kickhams 3-15 vs 0-08 Thomas Davis

Dublin SFC Final: Ballymun Kickhams vs Ballyboden St. Enda’s, Sunday 27th September 16:30 (Parnell Park). 



St Judes vs Na Fianna Dublin Live Scores and Betting Odds St Judes win by 5 points

Current Betting Odds
Na Fianna     8/11
Draw             13/2
St Judes       11/8

Dublin vs Laois

Last updated on Apr 7th, 2020 at 11:18

Dublin – S Brennan; P Smyth, E O’Donnell, J Madden; C Crummey, D Gray, C O’Callaghan; J Malone (0-1), S Moran (0-3); D Burke (0-2), D Sutcliffe, R Hayes (1-0); M Schutte, O O’Rorke (1-7), E Dillon (1-0). Subs: D Keogh (1-2) for E Dillon, J Hetherton (0-2) for M Schutte, A Dunphy for C O’Callaghan, F Whitely for J Madden, R McBride (0-1) for D Sutcliffe
Laois – E Rowland (0-1); L Senior, R Mullaney, D Hartnett; J Kelly (0-1), P Delaney, C McEvoy (0-2); F C Fennell, D Conway; A Dunphy (0-1), P Purcell (0-1), J Ryan (0-2); R King (0-6), W Dunphy (2-0), S Bergin (0-2). Subs: J Lennon for R Mullaney, R Broderick for L Senior, E Gaughan (0-1) for A Dunphy, J Keyes for P Purcell.
Referee – D Hughes.