Meath Football Final Gaeil Colmcille v Ratoath – Live score commentary

Meath Football Final Gaeil Colmcille v Ratoath – Live score commentary and preview, match throws in at 2:15pm in Pairc Tailteann.

Ratoath remain on course to retain their Championship. In a repeat of last year’s final, they overcame Summerhill in the semi. Meanwhile, Gaeil Colmcille reached their first Meath football final since 1991. In their semi-final, a superb second-half display saw them defeat Na Fianna.

Firstly, Ratoath showed their strength in depth by outperforming Summerhill by 1-7 to 0-4 in the second half of the semi-final. Summerhill led at half time by the minimum, thanks to a Barry Dardis goal. Likewise, the second-half continued in a tentative manner. Summerhill had chances to stretch their lead but a couple of misses provided a wake-up call for Ratoath.

All of a sudden, the champions racked up 1-4 without reply to earn a healthy six-point lead. The goal came courtesy of a Cian Rogers penalty. After seventeen minutes without a score, when Summerhill raised a flag again it was out of their reach. Jack Flynn, Conor Rooney, and Bryan McMahon all chipped with three points for the holders. It ended 1-14 to 1-9.

Similarly, Gaeil Colmcille came to life in the second-half of their semi-final with Na Fianna. Surprisingly, eight minutes after the restart it was 0-6 to 0-12 to the Group B winners. After that though, Gaeil Colmcille scored 2-9 to just a single point for Na Fianna.

A string of points began the comeback. Then, just before the second-half water break, Brian Hanlon scored a goal to level it. Next, it was an exhibition in executing chances from Gaeil Colmcille. Seamus Mattimoe was on the mark all day. His nine point tally consisted of six frees. Brian Hanlon also topped up his goal with four points, two from play. By the time Fionn Reilly scored the second goal in injury time, they had secured the win. As a result, Gaeil Colmcille went through on a score of 2-15 to 0-13.

Gaeil Colmcille were knocked out by Ratoath at the semi-final stage last year. Therefore, they have some extra motivation for this one. Despite the holders being favourites, Gaeil Colmcille will take this as a great chance to end their 29-year drought. Furthermore, the team has been knocking on the door frequently in recent seasons and will be itching to get a chance.

TG4 have sent their cameras to Páirc Tailteann for this one. Paddy Power have Ratoath but 4/6. However, Gaeil Colmcille are not far behind at 13/8. A draw is 13/2.

Paths to the Final

Ratoath: 5-21 vs 2-6 Nobber; 1-10 vs 1-5 Skryne; 0-11 vs 0-10 Simonstown; 1-14 vs 1-9 Summerhill (Semi-final).

Gaeil Colmcille: 1-17 vs 1-12 St. Colmcille’s; 3-8 vs 0-13 St. Peter’s Dunboyne; 2-15 vs 1-15 Dunshaughlin; 2-15 vs 0-13 Na Fianna (Semi-final).

Meath Football Final: Ratoath vs Gaeil Colmcille, Sunday 4th October, 2.15pm (Páirc Tailteann).


Meath vs Galway Division1 Football

Last updated on Oct 22nd, 2020 at 10:35

Scorers for Galway: Shane Walsh 0-7 (6fs), Paul Conroy 0-4 (1m), Ronan Steede 1-1, Michael Daly 0-1, Eamonn Brannigan 0-1.

Scorers for Meath: Ethan Devine 1-0, Bryan McMahon 0-3, James Conlon 0-3, Donal Lenihan 0-3 (2fs), Bryan Menton 0-2, Oisin O’Brien 0-1.

GALWAY: Connor Gleeson; Sean Kelly, Sean Mulkerrin, Johnny Heaney; Liam Silke, John Daly, Gary O’Donnell; Ronan Steede, Tom Flynn; Eamonn Brannigan, Cein D’Arcy, Michael Daly; Martin Farragher, Shane Walsh, Adrian Varley.

Subs: Paul Conroy for Farragher (27), Gareth Bradshaw for O’Donnell (52), Robert Finnerty for Varley (55), Darragh Silke for Daly (61), Matthias Barrett for Steede (65).

MEATH: Marcus Brennan; Robin Clarke, Conor McGill, David Toner; James McEntee, Ronan Ryan, Donal Keogan; Bryan Menton, Brian Conlon; Ethan Devine, Bryan McMahon, Cillian O’Sullivan; James Conlon, Oisin O’Brien, Thomas O’Reilly.

Subs: Shane Walsh for O’Brien (48), Donal Lenihan for Devine (55), Jack O’Connor for James Conlon (55), Padraic Harnan for Brian Conlon (55).

REFEREE: Niall Cullen (Fermanagh).


Donegal vs Meath Division 1 GAA Football

Last updated on Oct 22nd, 2020 at 11:15

Donegal :

S Patton; E Ban Gallagher, N McGee, O McFadden Ferry (1-0); C Ward, C O’Donnell, E McHugh; H McFadden (0-1), M Langan (1-1); P Brennan, R McHugh, C Thompson (0-1); P Mogan, M Murphy (1-2), J Brennan (0-2). Subs: A McClean for E McHugh, N O’Donnell (0-1) for P Mogan, B McCole for O McFadden Ferry, J McKelvey for H McFadden, C Diver for P Brennan.


Meath :

M Brennan; R Clarke, C McGill, D Toner (0-1); J McEntee, B Conlon, D Keogan; B Menton, R Jones; M Costello, B McMahon (0-1), E Wallace; C O’Sullivan (0-2), T O’Reilly (0-3), J Wallace. Subs: B Brennan for M Costello, E Devine for E Wallace, R Ryan for B Conlon, S Tobin for J Wallace, J Conlon for B McMahon.


Referee:  C Lane.