0-17 - 3-22Full Time
Galway Footballers
    Mayo Footballers
      • Even the ref has had enough, he blows the whistle two minutes early, he plays 2 of the 4min injury time, Mayo win by 15pts

      • 70'

        Five min injury time

      • 66'

        Durkan point, that 1-03 on the day

      • 66'

        Durkan point, that 1-03 on the day

      • 66'

        Silke point makes it 0-16 to 3-23

      • 58'

        Another Finnerty free

      • 55'

        Conor Loftus with the 3rd Mayo GOAL, they lead by 16pts

      • 53'

        Finnerty hits another free, its 0-13 to 2-20

      • 47'

        Darcy point

      • 45'

        Points from C'OC and Adrian Varley

      • 42'

        Finnerty and O'Connor trade scores, Mayo still lead by 16pts

      • 37'

        Mayo point from play Tommy Conroy

      • 36'

        First score of second half to Galways Cillian McDaid

      • 35'

        WOW - Mayo 2-18 Galway 0-07 at half time

      • 34'

        Two points from Cillian O'Connor and one from Aiden O'Shea

      • 29'

        Cillian O'Connor puts Mayo 10pts up

      • 29'

        GOALLLLL from play Patrick Durcan, Mayo lead by 9pts

      • 26'

        26mins 1st half #MayoGAA: 1-10(13) #GalwayGAA: 0-7(7) #GalwayGAA point from free Robert Finnerty

      • 25'

        Point from free Conor Loftus

      • 23'

        Point from free Robert Finnerty

      • 22'

        #MayoGAA: 1-8(11) #GalwayGAA: 0-5(5)

      • 18'

        Points from Mark Moran and Cillian O'Connor

      • 13'

        Point from play Paul Conroy

      • 12'

        Point from play Paul Conroy

      • 11'

        GOALLLL from play Mark Moran

      • 11'

        Galway 0-01 Mayo 0-05 - Moran with the score

      • 8'

        Mayo point from play Aidan O'Shea

      • 5'

        Second point for Cillian O'Connor

      • 2'

        MayoGAA point from play Conor Loftus

      • 3'

        Cillian O'Connor free

      • Galway- Connor Gleeson; Conor Campbell, Sean Andy Kelly, Johnny Heaney (capt); Liam Silke, Johnny Duane, Cillian McDaid; John Maher, Cein D’Arcy; Eamonn Brannigan, Michael Daly, Jason Leonard; Robert Finnerty, Ian Burke, Paul Conroy.

      • Mayo : David Clarke; Oisin Mullin, David McBrien, Lee Keegan; Patrick Durcan, Stephen Coen, Eoghan McLoughlin; Matthew Ruane, Conor Loftus; Fionn McDonagh, Mark Moran, Diarmuid O'Connor; Tommy Conroy, Aidan O'Shea, Cillian O'Connor.


      TeamScoresLive ScoreOutcome
      Galway 00-17Loss
      Mayo 03-22Win


      Preview and live score commentary – The Galway vs Mayo rivalry is set to continue as both sides aim to hit the ground running with the return of the Allianz National League. Last summer, Mayo finally overcame their rivals in the final qualifying round of the Championship. Previously, Galway had defeated the Green and Reds five times in a row.

      Last year, Mayo won the Allianz National League by beating Kerry in the final. However, they could not replicate their form in 2020. Currently, they sit seventh in the League and are fighting for survival. Their only victory to date was against bottom of the table Meath. A draw with Donegal was their only other source of points as losses to Dublin, Kerry, and Monaghan have left them under pressure. They need two good results against Galway and Tyrone in their remaining games to ensure Division 1 status for next year.

      In contrast, Galway are in control of the League and will be looking to go on and win it. Currently, they have only lost to Kerry. Wins against Monaghan, Donegal, Tyrone, and Meath had them full of momentum. As a result, they would have been left frustrated by the suspension of inter-county action. But, without a League final this year, good results against Mayo and then Dublin could see them reigned Champions.

      Reignited Rivalry

      With that in mind, it is possible that Galway will line out with a full-strength squad for their restart. Padraig Joyce has impressed so far in his stint at the helm. For example, his side’s scintillating display against Tyrone in February was a masterclass in attacking football. Add that to a strong selection from impressive Club performers and Galway are the team to beat. With Corofin finally dethroned within the county, there are new stars for Joyce to choose from. If the League is to be decided in the final round against Dublin, Galway need to pick up from where they left off.

      Yet, Mayo haven’t gone away despite their League position. Their win against Galway in the Championship last year would have been a big relief after a series of losses. Recent challenge wins over Donegal and Clare are a promising start for James Horan’s team. It will be interesting to see whether any of the newly-crowned Championship winners from Knockmore will receive a call-up. For instance, Darren McHale and Kieran King were particularly impressive as they defeated Breaffy to win the Moclair Cup.

      Mayo face a hectic restart with their first Championship game coming on the 1st of November. They face Leitrim in the preliminary round of the Connacht Championship. On the other hand, Galway have an extra week to prepare before they face Sligo in the semi-final.

      Allianz National League: Galway vs Mayo, Sunday October 18, 2pm (TG4). 




      DateTimeLeagueSeasonMatch DayFull Time
      October 18, 202014:00GAA - Divison 1 Football202018/10/2070'


      Pearse Stadium, Galway
      Pearse Stadium, Rockbarton Court, Rockbarton Park, Attithomasrevagh, Rockbarton, Galway City, County Galway, Connacht, H91 FC67, Ireland


      # PlayerPosition
      Sean Andy O’CeallaighDefender
      Sean KellyDefender
      Sean MulkerrinDefender
      Johnny HeaneyDefender


      # PlayerPosition
      Cillian O’ConnorForward
      Patrick DurcanDefender
      Lee KeeganDefender
      Aidan O’SheaMidfielder